BERLIN RESIDENCY PROGRAM 2021

The Berlin residency program of Uferstudios, funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe, offered a total of 5 projects in 2021 the opportunity to promote different working methods and themes as an alternative to the usual funding and production practices. In terms of content, two different residencies were offered, each intended to benefit different phases of development of artistic work and for which artists who have their main focus of work in Berlin could apply.

The residency "SITUATIVE WORKING - SITUATED LEARNING" offered research and working residencies that focused on choreographic, participatory and/or process-oriented works that took place in close exchange with the neighborhood as well as the urban society. The residencies on "TRIALS AND REVISITING" promoted experimental work phases before the start of production, body-based, exploratory work on a project before the conception phase of a new idea, the revision of existing works with the elaboration of a specific focus, as well as deepening and learning within the framework of a project through the input/expert knowledge from outside.

 

THE PROJECTS

DSC3328

In the frame of the Berlin Residency program, the collective KAPUTT, consisting of Pilar Villadangos and Valeria Oviedo, were invited to work from the beginning of August till the midst of September 2021 at Heizhaus. Their project about migration started with interviews with people from the migrant communities of Berlin, recording their voices and experiences. From there, the project evolved to a collaboration with different associations and artists that deal with migration: In several workshops the group and their associated artists worked together with members of the different communities on questions of arriving and departing somewhere, creating a community themselves within the process. Their collected experiences and voice recordings were part of several urban interventions which took place in September in different districts of Berlin.
Photographer: Alejandro Ramos | Performer: Giulia Rossi | Direction: KAPUTT (Valeria Oviedo and Pilar Villadangos) | Production & Video Projection: Valeria Oviedo | Costume Design: Forough Absalan | Music & Sound Design: Aloe | Visual Art for poster: Ximena Gutiérrez | Videographer for short film: Farahat Khalil

 

Kevin Bonono2

Kevin Bonono has been invited to revisit his project A sensation of a truth as part of "TRIALS AND REVISITING" at Uferstudios for Winter 2021. The project premiered at Galerie Wedding in August 2021. A Sensation of a Truth (about the gaze and its effects on human behaviors) is a conversational work about the perception of one self in relation to the etiquettes attached to. Taking into consideration the political, social, and personal overview of how appearances, cultural background and fashion in the larger sense are appraised and shape our behavior. The outcome is being isolated, restricted, controlled or watched. The way Black and queer bodies face the gazes and attributions that address them are a preoccupation of Kevin Bonono’s work.
Through a longstanding engagement with gaze, Bonono continued while the residency his studies about the different codes and vocabulary that minorities use – or sometimes lack – to recognise one another. This vocabulary is part of a larger identity struggle.
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: “A single story creates stereotypes and the problem with stereotypes is not that they are untrue but that they are incomplete…”

Lea Kieffer

With the project Meluzine & Cie (Spending time with mermaids), Lea Kieffer (aka Meluzine Codex Mercury) dedicated the Berlin residency to the recurrent figure of her work in the past year: the cosmic mermaid. In company with other artists/creatures, such as dancer/drummer Ángela Muñoz Martínez (aka Jupiter Sonic Smith), dancers Frida Guilia Franceschini ( aka Morticia Moon X) and Rocio Marano ( aka Yawna Galactica), musician Nina Hynes (aka Vulna Zinazia), dancer/ writer Timothée Nay (aka Colin Danger) and punctual guests, Lea Kieffer aimed to awaken their inner mermaid and explored in the frame of the Berlin residency movement-voice connections, song writing, storytelling, lapdancing, somatic shapeshifting, apnee and growing tail training, as well as build aquatico-cosmic landscapes and costumes made of shells, sea creature prints from 90’s recycled sheets, neon-lights sculptures and other found treasures.

 

Joni Barnard

In the frame of the Berlin Residency “TRIALS AND REVISITING”, Joni Barnard continued working on their collaborative performance Danse Macabre and the Burning of the Bugs. The project is a tragic-comic response to the current species extinction in the insect world, the horror of the Bug Apocalypse and the absurdity of humankind’s violent destruction of our habitat. Joni invited the videographer Elisa Purfürst, the dancer-performer Liselotte Singer, Marc Philipp Gabriel as a visiting performer and dramaturg and Tizo All for costume and scenic design and conception. For the residency the artists concentrated on creating soundscapes and layering realtime making and projected images to the performance. As further input, they consulted experts on insects based in and around Berlin and researched deeply the team's experience, bias and discrimination towards interspecies interconnectedness.

 

Tzeshi Lei

Tzeshi Lei’s research project took place in autumn of 2021. The project tried to explore the collective creation of trans-cultural contemporary magic in choreographic forms within the urban context. It was meant as a platform and creative plus critical safe space to bring different groups into exchange and co-creation, reflecting on the inherent choreographic dynamics of love, power and sexuality.

CALL FOR ACTION - EMERGENCY FUND
For the establishment of an emergency fund for cultural and other civil society organizations to actively support Ukrainian and Russian colleagues threatened by the war.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Rules for visitors
We recommend wearing a mask! Distance regulations and routing must be kept on site. Partial capacity reduction. Individual admission regulations apply to the respective events! Please always inform yourself about this on the respective event pages!
WIR SIND VIELE – JEDE*R EINZELNE VON UNS!
Uferstudios supporting the Berlin "Declaration of the Many" for an open society!

BERLINER RESIDENZPROGRAMM

Das Berliner Residenzprogramm der Uferstudios, gefördert durch die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, bot im Jahr 2021 insgesamt 5 Projekten die Möglichkeit, alternativ zu den bisher gängigen Förder-und Produktionspraktiken, verschiedene Arbeitsweisen und -thematiken zu fördern. Inhaltlich wurden zwei unterschiedliche Residenzen angeboten, die jeweils anderen Entwicklungsphasen künstlerischer Arbeit zugute kommen sollten und auf die sich Künstler*innen bewerben konnten, die ihren Abreitsschwerpunkt in Berlin haben.

So bot die Residenz "SITUATIVES ARBEITEN - SITUIERTES LERNEN" Recherche- und Arbeitsresidenzen an, die sich schwerpunktmäßig mit choreografischen, partizipativen und/oder prozessorientierten Arbeiten, die im engen Austausch mit der Nachbarschaft sowie der Stadtgesellschaft stattfinden sollten, beschäftigten. Die Residenzen zu "ERPROBUNGEN UND VERTIEFUNGEN" förderten experimentelle Arbeitsphasen vor Produktionsbeginn, körperbasiertes, explorierendes Arbeiten an einem Projektvorhaben vor der Konzeptionsphase einer neuen Idee, die Überarbeitung bestehender Arbeiten unter Herausarbeitung eines spezifischen Schwerpunkts sowie vertiefendes und lernendes Arbeiten im Rahmen eines Projektvorhabens durch den Input/Expert*innenwissen von außen.

 

DIE PROJEKTE

DSC3327

Im Rahmen der Residenz "SITUATIVES ARBEITEN - SITUIERTES LERNEN" wurde das Kollektiv KAPUTT, bestehend aus Pilar Villadangos und Valeria Oviedo, eingeladen, von Anfang August bis Mitte September 2021 im Heizhaus zu arbeiten. Ihr Projekt zum Thema Migration begann mit Interviews mit Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund in Berlin, um ihre Stimmen und Erfahrungen nicht nur metaphorisch aufzunehmen. Von da an entwickelte sich das Projekt zu einer Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Vereinen und Künstler*innen, die sich mit Migration beschäftigen: In mehreren Workshops arbeiteten die Gruppe und die mit ihr arbeitenden Künstler*innen gemeinsam mit Mitgliedern der verschiedenen Communities an Fragen des Ankommens und Aufbrechens und schufen dabei selbst eine Gemeinschaft. Ihre gesammelten Erfahrungen und Sprachaufnahmen im Rahmen der durchgeführten Interviews waren Teil mehrerer urbaner Interventionen, die im September in verschiedenen Bezirken Berlins stattfanden.

Fotograf: Alejandro Ramos | Performance: Giulia Rossi | Regie: KAPUTT (Valeria Oviedo und Pilar Villadangos) | Produktion & Videoprojektion: Valeria Oviedo | Kostümgestaltung: Forough Absalan | Musik & Sounddesign: Aloe | Visuelle Plakatgestaltung: Ximena Gutiérrez | Videofilmer Kurzfilm: Farahat Khalil

 

Kevin Bonono2

Kevin Bonono wurde für den Winter 2021 eingeladen, sein Projekt A sensation of a truth im Rahmen von "ERPROBUNGEN UND VERTIEFUNGEN" in den Uferstudios wiederaufzunehmen. Das Projekt wurde im August 2021 in der Galerie Wedding uraufgeführt. A Sensation of a Truth (about the gaze and its effects on human behaviors) ist eine Reflexion über die Wahrnehmung des eigenen Ichs in Bezug auf die damit verbundenen Umgangsformen. Dabei wird ein politischer, sozialer und persönlicher Überblick darüber gegeben, wie Äußerlichkeiten, kultureller Hintergrund und Mode im weiteren Sinne bewertet werden und unser Verhalten prägen. Das Ergebnis ist, dass wir isoliert, eingeschränkt, kontrolliert oder beobachtet werden. Die Art und Weise, wie Schwarze und queere Körper den Blicken und Zuschreibungen ausgesetzt sind, die auf sie gerichtet sind, ist ein Schwerpunkt von Kevin Bononos Arbeit.
In seiner langjährigen Beschäftigung mit Blicken untersuchte Bonono im Rahmen des Berliner Residenzprogramms die verschiedenen Codes und das Vokabular, das Minderheiten verwenden - oder manchmal auch nicht -, um sich gegenseitig zu erkennen. Dieses Vokabular ist Teil eines größeren Identitätskampfes.
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: "Eine einzige Geschichte schafft Stereotypen, und das Problem mit Stereotypen ist nicht, dass sie unwahr sind, sondern dass sie unvollständig sind..."

 

Lea Kieffer

Mit dem Projekt Meluzine & Cie (Spending time with mermaids) widmete Lea Kieffer (alias Meluzine Codex Mercury) die Berliner Residenz der wiederkehrenden Figur ihrer Arbeit im vergangenen Jahr: der kosmischen Meerjungfrau. Zusammen mit anderen Künstler*innen/Kreaturen wie der Tänzerin/Trommlerin Ángela Muñoz Martínez (aka Jupiter Sonic Smith), den Tänzer*innen Frida Guilia Franceschini (aka Morticia Moon X) und Rocio Marano (aka Yawna Galactica), der Musikerin Nina Hynes (aka Vulna Zinazia), dem Tänzer/Autor Timothée Nay (aka Colin Danger) und punktuell mit eingeladenen Gästen, zielte Lea Kieffer darauf ab, ihre innere Meerjungfrau zu erwecken und entdeckte im Rahmen des Berliner Residenzprogramms Bewegungsverbindungen, Songwriting, Storytelling, Lapdance, somatisches Shapeshifting, Apnoe- und Schwanzwachstums-Training, sowie den Bau von aquatisch-kosmischen Landschaften und Kostümen aus Muscheln, Meerestierdrucken aus recycelten Bettlaken der 90er Jahre, Neonlicht-Skulpturen und anderen gefundenen Schätzen.

 

Joni Barnard

Im Rahmen der Berliner Residenz "ERPROBUNGEN UND VERTIEFUNGEN" arbeitete Joni Barnard weiter an ihrer gemeinsamen Performance Danse Macabre and the Burning of the Bugs. Das Projekt ist eine tragisch-komische Antwort auf das aktuelle Artensterben in der Insektenwelt, den Horror der Käfer-Apokalypse und die Absurdität der gewaltsamen Zerstörung unseres Lebensraums durch die Menschheit. Joni lud die Videografin Elisa Purfürst, die Tänzerin und Performerin Liselotte Singer, Marc Philipp Gabriel als Gastperformer und Dramaturg und Tizo All für Kostüm- und Bühnenbild und Konzeption ein. Während der Residenz konzentrierten sich die Künstler*innen auf die Schaffung von Klanglandschaften und die Überlagerung von Bildern in Echtzeit und projizierten somit zusätzlich Bilder in der und auf die Performance. Als weiteren Input konsultierten sie in und um Berlin ansässige Insektenexpert*innen und recherchierten ausgiebig eigene Erfahrungen, Vorurteile und Diskriminierungen in Bezug auf die Verbindung zwischen den unterschiedlichen Arten.

 

Tzeshi Lei

Das Forschungsprojekt von Tzeshi Lei fand im Herbst 2021 statt. Das Projekt untersuchte die kollektive Erschaffung von transkultureller zeitgenössischer Magie in choreografischen Formen im urbanen Kontext. Es war als Plattform und kreativer sowie kritischer Schutzraum gedacht, um verschiedene Gruppen in Austausch und Ko-Kreation zu bringen und über die inhärenten choreografischen Dynamiken von Liebe, Macht und Sexualität zu reflektieren.

12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31
Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Zugangsregeln
Bitte beachten: Veranstaltungen können nur mit 2G-PLUS- neg. Testnachweis besucht werden, d.h. Einlass ist nur gegen Vorlage einer Bescheinigung über eine vollständige Impfung und/oder einer Bescheinigung über die Genesung von Covid-19 möglich (Lichtbildausweis zum Identitätsnachweis ist mitzuführen). Darüber hinaus ist die Vorlage eines tagesaktuellen, negativen Testergebnisses einer offiziellen Teststelle obligatorisch! Von der Testpflicht ausgenommen sind dreifach geimpfte Personen!
Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Besucherregeln
Es besteht die Pflicht zur Kontaktdatenhinterlegung. Für alle Veranstaltungen besteht Maskenpflicht. Abstandsbestimmungen und Wegeführung sind vor Ort zu beachten. Starke Kapazitätenreduktion.
WIR SIND VIELE – JEDE*R EINZELNE VON UNS!
Die Uferstudios unterstützen die Berliner Erklärung der Vielen für eine offene Gesellschaft!